top of page
  • Writer's pictureLoren

Fourth of July Fun






The Fourth of July.


It’s one of my favorite holidays. I love the fireworks, the barbecues, and the festive clothing! Last year we spent the holiday in Shreveport, LA with a good friend of ours and had a blast. This year we stayed home, but we still had a lot fun.


The night before, we went to the marina and hung out on a friend’s sailboat for a bit. I was feeling a little down, but they brought my mood up! It was a really cool boat. Amelia liked it and I wouldn't mind having one myself one day. There were some dolphins swimming nearby at a point. Amelia loved that, of course.


the walk to the boat

amelia and kim

the babies on a boat

two friends on a boat

The start of the day itself was a little rough for me. Amelia woke up at 6 AM and was super cranky. She cried and yelled at me. She would ask me to hold her and then tell me to move the second that I touched her. We were up and I needed to get moving to maintain some of my sanity. I loaded us in the car and drove to get some coffee. She yelled at me the entire way back to the house. I ended up sitting in the car and crying because I was so frustrated and exhausted. I downed my coffee and told myself that we were going to have a good day. The 4th is one of my favorite holidays and I was determined to enjoy it. Not to mention, I don’t like when me and her have days that we struggle. I want her to be happy. I want to be happy and I get upset when we are having a hard day. Luckily, our day did get better from there.


We headed to a friend’s house not too long after and spent the rest of the morning there. It was nice hanging out and getting ready with my friends. Eventually, Amelia went down for a nap. I was SO relieved. I love that little girl, but I was tired and I definitely needed a break at that point. We had planned to go to a barbecue with our friends, but there was no way I was waking her from that nap. The plan was to meet them there, but she ended up sleeping so long that we missed the entire thing! On the plus side, she was MUCH happier when she woke up.


The rest of the day was spent exploring, playing, and waiting for fireworks. It rained but the fireworks still went off! Which was actually pretty cool because we ended up watching them in the rain together for a few minutes. Amelia said they were scary and pretty and loud! After a couple minutes, she decided she was not sold on fireworks; she wanted to leave. We headed back to the car as she waved and said goodbye to the fireworks.


Amelia at the park

Amelia at the park

Amelia at the park

Amelia at the park

amelia at the park

Amelia at the park

I hope next year she is less afraid of them, but all in all we had a pretty good day yesterday. It was a good reminder for me to choose happiness when at all possible and to be content with where we are currently. I’m excited to see what our life will be like in a year, but I’m also in no hurry.


I hope you and yours had a very happy fourth!




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page