top of page
  • Writer's pictureLoren

Mickey's Halloween Party!

Oh my goodness guys! Taylor's birthday was last weekend and I booked some really fun stuff for us! We had Mimi that weekend and I'd be lying if I said it wasn't challenging at times. Overall, I'd say we had a great time and I have to give my childless boyfriend major props for maintaining his his composure during some serious toddler tantrums.


We got to experience Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party. It was a lot of fun. Amelia was Tinkerbell (probably the cutest Tinkerbell I've ever seen), I was Captain Hook, and Taylor was Peter Pan. I made our costumes, well sort of. I used an old Tinkerbell costume that I made years ago for myself and I took it way in and cut it much shorter and voila- Amelia's costume. For My captain hook costume I used a dress I already had and tied some black, sheer material around my waist. I had a hook and a sword, but my forgetful self left it at the house so I had to go without. I did super dark eye shadow and then realized I also forgot my mascara. I was annoyed at myself for forgetting yet another thing, but figured no one would be looking at it anyway. Taylor's costume took very minimal effort but turned out really great! I bought a green polo from Walmart and cut and distressed it. He wore green pants and put a belt around the shirt. He was a pretty handsome Peter, I must say.




We all had a great time! The castle looked beautifully spooky and there was an eerie haze all around. Since it was a special, after hours event the park was much less busy than it usually is- which means less time waiting in lines! Amelia's favorite ride is Dumbo, or "Jumbo" as she calls it so we were sure to go on that one. On the way to Dumbo, they were giving away free pumpkin churros. We grabbed one to share, although Amelia ate most of it. It was delicious!






While we were walking along the water, across from Tom Sawyer's Island, we caught a PROPOSAL. I've seen a few proposals at Disney but this one was by far my favorite. I've always seen them done in front of the castle while getting a photo taken. This couple was kind of tucked away. It was dark and there were fireworks going off. Everyone was watching the fireworks and I would have missed the proposal entirely if Taylor hadn't gotten my attention. The couple was watching the fireworks together when he got her to turn and face him. He knelt down on one knee and asked her! It was so much more private and unexpected than the other proposals I've seen at Disney.


Something I've been wanting to do for a while is a lantern photo. The photo pass cast members will take your photo with a lantern near Rapunzel's tower. The photos I've seen taken there, turn out beautifully. We finally got to take one, due to the smaller lines. Amelia ate it up! In one of the photos Taylor and I both kissed her cheeks. She threw her head back and smiled the cheesiest smile. She absolutely loved it! They are easily my favorite photos from the night.





The last part of the evening, we watched the Halloween parade. I loved it! It started off with the Headless Horseman riding down the parade route on his spooky steed. Disney characters made their way down on floats. Amelia noticed Tinkerbell in the parade and she was really excited about it. There was a part of the parade dedicated to "villains" which was really cute and silly.


The night spent at the Halloween party was great.. And then we left. That's where our night went downhill. Amelia fell asleep before we got back to the car. She slept through the loud noises, boat ride, and the walk to the car. As soon as I even touched her to get her into the car, she woke up and was a hellion from then until she fell asleep. It was one of the worst fits I've seen her have. I got in the tub when we got back to our hotel and she was super pissed about it. She screamed at me, and I mean absolutely screamed. I had a nice headache by the time she fell asleep. I managed to get her diaper off for a change before she went to sleep, but she refused to let me put another one back on. She literally fell asleep in the bed, diaper-less and I had to sneakily put one on her after she fell asleep. I'm pretty sure her mega-fit scared Taylor a lot- like, I wouldn't be surprised if he never wanted to have kids after seeing that.


If there is one thing I have learned since having a kid, its that you win some and you lose some. There are going to be huge fits and happy days and sad nights. You can't hold onto that frustration felt during their fits, or mega-fits in Amelia's instance this time. You have to be able to take a breath and move on from those feelings, because these babies are little. Time is different to them than it is to us. The fit they threw yesterday, when they stayed up way past their bed time and were in an unfamiliar place, is long in their past. Sometimes its best just to move on with them and enjoy the day.


The next day, after some much needed rest, we headed to Coronado Springs Resort! I'll be sharing about this stay on my next post, so check back soon!








48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page