top of page
  • Writer's pictureLoren

Pushing Past The New Year

Updated: Mar 14, 2018

The next month and half are going to be busy, busy, busy! I'm going to Austin for a friend's bachelorette party, then I have her wedding, and I still have school in the midst of all of it. Not to mention work! I'm so excited to watch one of my best friends get married and stand up there with her! I couldn't be happier for her and her husband to be! The bridesmaid dresses are beautiful and I can't wait to wear mine. The bachelorette party in Austin is sure to be fun! It'll be nice to get out and explore and have some much needed girl time.


My first term in school this year just ended and I'm already into the first week of my second term. School has been going fine and I'm happy I'm going, but I can't help but feel a little over-extended at times. I have also found myself much busier with work- which was a welcome change! I'm really trying to work on multi-tasking to make better use of my time. Recently, I combined my daily walk with making work calls! It actually went pretty well and I plan to continue doing this in the future when I need to. My career finally feels like its headed in the direction that I've been working to get it in.


Next on my to-do list is paying off some debt and finding a house for me and Amelia. We will be renting for now, but it'll be so nice to have our own place again. I love my family and am thankful for the support they've shown us, however I miss having my own space. I can't wait to pick out some decor pieces once we have our place so we can really make it our own! I'm expecting we'll be ready, at the most, in two months.


So far, I've been pretty good about working on my goals for this year. One of them was to read a book a month- this is the one that I have not been as diligent with. BUT I did finish up my January book (I know, I'm behind). I read The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah. It was so, so good. The last book that I fell in love with like this was The Time Traveler's Wife. I had some severe book withdrawal with this one. I tend to get very attached to characters in books that I read (I'm aware they are fictional haha) and I'm usually in a funk for a couple days after reading a really great book. I DO need a book suggestion for my next read, so feel free to give me suggestions!


Another thing I've wanted to do for.. basically ever.. is learn how to play an instrument. Well I'm happy to say, I picked up a guitar the other day. I've done this countless times in the past, but somehow it felt easier this time. I sat there and practiced for a while and really began to learn. I can even play part of a song (while singing along) after that one practice session! I'm really thrilled about this because this goal was more than just for this year. It is a goal that I have yet to accomplish, but have always wanted to.


In working toward and accomplishing my goals, it reminds me why self-love is so important. When we show ourselves a little grace and a little love, we are able to focus on our goals and take bigger steps forward. The things I want for me and Amelia are slowly becoming reality and I can feel progress; slow, but steady progress.


Stay tuned for my trip to Austin! I'm sure I'll have lots of fun adventures and pictures to share!





24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page